Work/life balance

Just curious as to what some of you do for work and if you think you have a good work/life balance?

I’m a secondary teacher and have just gone back 4 days a week after being on maternity leave. I was contemplating a career change before, but now, it is a must. I don’t know how any parent manages to teach and still spend time with family. I’m knackered everyday and have to bring work home every night. They are micromanaging and it sucks. I’m to the point where I’m tired of student behaviour and my employer not trusting me. I’m actively looking, working on my CV/LinkedIn profile and hopefully I’ll be out by Jan.

Anyway, just curious. I really want my evening and weekends. I’m even happy to go full time and give up school holidays to be able to enjoy life more and be happier at work.

4 Likes

Its very important that you have a good work/life balance otherwise your health gets compromised and thats not good at all. Trust in yourself and your skillset, you won’t go wrong. It is very important to find time to unwind and relax.

5 Likes

Yeah I’m pretty lucky at the moment, work on the railways as a track protection coordinator and currently working day shift Monday to Friday 730-4, have the option to work public holidays and Saturday’s if I want the overtime.

I say lucky as when I started on the Railways in 2010 I was doing a lot of 60+ hour weeks mixed in with day shifts/ night shifts so it was a bit all over the shop, the positive of that was it helped me get a good deposit on a property at a pretty young age.

2 Likes

Don’t blame you at all. I got not far from the end of my PGCE and quite drastically decided to quit without completing it and change career direction. I just knew that the demands of the profession would affect my mental health hugely and make me shit to be around for the important people in my life when I wasnt working and with them.