“Good” Twitter (X) Sources

Further to the recent discussion in the site feedback thread on the use of tweets on the site, I thought it might be worthwhile to have a discussion to establish what we consider a “good” twitter source.

This is not to say anything is going to be banned or prevented, especially at this stage, there’s been no discussion among the mod team about doing anything like that. But obviously it would be nice to have a shared understanding of what twitter sources we would all like to see on the site.

I am by no means a twitter expert, in fact I hate the platform with the fire of a thousand suns. But I thought I could at least get the ball rolling with a few suggestions and if others weigh in I could perhaps keep this post updated with what we consider a “good” source.

A “good” source doesn’t necessarily need to be one we like, but one whom we can recognise has credentials. For example, I have always considered John Cross an absolute hack since well before the time of Twitter but he is nonetheless a journalist working for a mainstream football news outlet.

So to start with:

• Arsenal and football correspondents for all major British football publications and mainstream media such as newspapers, the BBC, The Athletic, ITV, Sky and TNT.

• Media outlets with a close affiliation to Arsenal, eg Arseblog.

• Noted European correspondents eg foreign Sky journalists, noted football publications like Marca or Bild.

• Established football professionals, players, coaches, agents etc

• sources nominated by users such as (in the past) AFC Bell who are clearly passing on information from some kind of briefing from inside Arsenal.

The last category is probably the hardest to manage and might need some regular review and updating.

Can I also suggest that where people might post a tweet that is not in English, it is expected they will supply a translation of some kind.